Majic Listen Live Banner
Donnie Simpson header logo

Source: Creative Services / InteractiveOne


The nation’s top recognition for artists, which is usually highlighted by a White House reception with the president and first lady, known as the Kennedy Center Honors was held on Saturday December 2, 2017.

Awardees included LL Cool J, Carmen Lavallade, Lionel Richie, Gloria Estefan, and Norman Lear. The White House did not partake in this year’s festivities after Trump announced he would not attend to prevent being a political distraction.



The White House reception was cancelled after some of the honorees said they would boycott attending.  Estefan was glad Trump decided to skip out on this year’s ceremony, “Whenever something becomes more about the controversy than the actual achievements of the people that are receiving the award, it kinda dampens it for everybody.”



LL Cool J felt the same way as Estefan about Trump’s presence being a distraction. Luckily they were not outshined. Congratulations to all the honorees!


Also On Majic 102.3 - 92.7:
Fred Hammond Joins List Of Public Figures With The Coronavirus (Updated November 2020)
Evening of Praise and Worship
82 photos