Listen Live
Majic 102.3/92.7 Featured Video


WASHINGTON, DC – NAACP DC Branch President, Akosua Tyus, received the 2012 Frances Hesselbein Next Leader of the Future Award on Tuesday, October 16, 2012, recognizing emerging leaders age 30 and under. 


The Leader of the Future Award annually honors extraordinary leaders from the public, private and social sector demonstrating ethics, integrity and character while serving the common good.  Fellow award recipients include Commissioner Charles H. Ramsey and General Peter W. Chiarelli. 


The Frances Hesselbein Leadership Institute is a 501© 3 nonprofit organization strengthening and inspiring the leadership of the social sector and their partners in business and government.  President Tyus was recognized for her amazing contributions made to our country through the social justice work of the NAACP in Washington, DC through voter empowerment, education, financial literacy, promoting health and wellness. 

President Tyus said, “Frances Hesselbein is a phenomenal pioneer for women and diversity.  It is an honor to be recognized by Frances Hesselbein who exemplifies, ‘to lead is to serve, to serve is to live.’  I seek to embody the humble principals of service, as Frances Hesselbein continues to foster leadership through service. ”