Listen Live
Majic 102.3/92.7 Featured Video

The inaugural Comedy Awards for Comedy Central were held this weekend in New York City. A who’s who comedy walked the red carpet, with stars like Eddie Murphy, Will Ferrell, Andy Samberg, Tracy Jordan, Stephen Colbert, Andy Richter, Trey Parker, Matt Stone and Jon Cryer, all in attendance.

Radio DJ, BET Host Killed In NYC

Ginuwine: “Aaliyah & Beyonce Would Be Neck & Neck Today,” Do You Agree?

The Roots performed throughout the night and The Lonely Island featuring Akon also lit up the stage. But it was Eddie Murphy who everyone was there to see.

No big surprise (considering it was announced before the event), Murphy was honored with the Comedy Icon Award. According to Comedy Central, this award is designed to “honor an innovator whose work has transformed the world of comedy and indelibly influenced those who followed, so it’s fitting that Eddie Murphy would be selected as the award’s first recipient. After all, at 19 he became one of SNL‘s biggest stars ever, and in the three decades that have since passed, he’s gone on to become one of the top comedic talents in stand-up and film, starring in such modern classics as ‘Eddie Murphy Delirious’, ‘Coming to America’, ‘Beverly Hills Cop’ and ‘The Nutty Professor’.”

The ceremony will be broadcast on Comedy Central April 10, check it out to see who else took home awards.

Gabourey Sidibe To Join Eddie Murphy In Upcoming Comedy

Eddie Murphy Makes Amends With Mel B. & Daughter

Mel B: “Eddie Murphy Won’t See His Daughter”